Post thumbnail

5 rounds, 96 drivers, 1 champion. In the blink of an eye, the inaugural Drift Masters Virtual Championship came to a close last weekend and saw the greatest 32 virtual drivers of the season go to battle one last time.

To curtain close the season, no ordinary circuit would do with Round 5 set to take place aboard the top deck of the USS Drift Masters, a very custom and one-off track unlike anything ever seen before in drifting.

With the season coming to a close, this meant a prize many could only dream of was set to become reality for just one driver. A chance to drive a 1000HP DMEC pro-spec drift car with no other than Piotr Więcek!

The winner of Round 5 would also take the win for the entire season with a straight Top 32 shoot-out to once and for all crown the first-ever champion of DMVC 2021.

As battle action heated up and the battle bracket narrowed it was looked as if it was going to go virtual drift veteran Tikhon Polesskys way after topping qualifying and steaming to the Top 4 but an uncharacteristic error against Alex Sevryuk in a OMT battle would unfortunately draw to a close to his title shot.

From the bracket of 32, it was UK based Prodrift Academy driver Rhys Tatterson that would prove himself unbeatable on the day taking the win at Round 5 and being crowned the champion of DMVC 2021. The Prodrift Academy duo of Tatterson and Hynes proved a force to be reckoned with in 2021 and rightly take the title for this season.

The next question is though, can they defend it next season? The only way to find out is to stay tuned for more!

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy